Albert Gallatin Area School Board – Special Meeting Minutes D. Ferd Swaney Cafeteria Monday, December 18, 2023

MEMBERS PRESENT: President Ryan Porupski, Secretary Betty Moser, Treasurer Doug Sholtis (arrived at 5:56 pm), Carl Planiczka, Dan Janesko, David Howard, Eric Miller

MEMBERS ABSENT: Myers, Dunham

ALSO PRESENT: Superintendent Christopher Pegg, Business Manager Vince Belczyk, Solicitor Lee Price

President Porupski called the meeting to order at 5:30 pm.

PUBLIC FORUM

None

EXECUTIVE SESSION

An Executive Session was held on Monday, December 18, 2023 from 5:32 pm – 5:42 pm for personnel and student confidentiality.

AGENDA

A motion was made by Planiczka second by Moser to adopt the agenda as presented.

All members present voting in favor of motion.

APPROVE MINUTES

A motion was made by Howard second by Planiczka to approve minutes of the reorganization meeting held on December 4, 2023.

All members present voting in favor of motion.

A motion was made by Planiczka second by Janesko to approve minutes of the regular meeting held on December 4, 2023.

All members present voting in favor of motion.

BILLS AND PAYROLL

A motion was made by Planiczka second by Janesko to grant permission to pay the following bills and payroll for December 2023:

- 1. Current month general fund bills in the amount of \$1,463,187.85
- 2. Cafeteria fund bills in the amount of \$98,365.44

All members present voting in favor of motions.

ACTIVITY ACCOUNTS

A motion was made by Howard second by Moser to accept activity account report as presented by building principals.

All members present voting in favor of motion.

ACT 1 RESOLUTION

A motion was made by Sholtis second by Planiczka to approve the Resolution indicating that Albert Gallatin Area School District will not raise the rate of any tax for the support of the public schools for the 2024-2025 fiscal year by more than the Act 1 inflationary index, which is 7.8%.

All members present voting in favor of motion.

SWRTB REPRESENTATIVE

A motion was made by Howard second by Moser to appoint Vince Belczyk to Southwest Regional Tax Bureau 2024 Representative for a one-year term and Doug Sholtis as Alternative.

Miller nominated Sholtis for alternative second by Janesko.

All members present voting in favor of motion.

Sholtis abstaining from his nomination only.

ACT 1 MAILING

A motion was made by Planiczka second by Howard to approve Act 1 Homestead/Farmstead mailing not to exceed \$5,100.00.

All members present voting in favor of motion.

SOLICITOR'S REPORT

None

LEAVE OF ABSENCE

A motion was made by Planiczka second by Janesko to grant Stephanie Jenkins, Cafeteria employee a nonpaid leave of absence from December 29, 2023 through February 12, 2024.

All members present voting in favor of motion.

AWARD POSITIONS

A motion was made by Planiczka second by Howard to award Tracey Hackney the 12 month Secretary position at AG North Middle School.

All members present voting in favor of motion.

Superintendent Pegg stated the move would be effective July 1, 2024.

A motion was made by Planiczka second by Moser to award Lana Groover the 10 month Secretary position at George J. Plava Elementary effective July 1, 2024.

All members present voting in favor of motion.

NEW HIRE

A motion was made by Janesko second by Planiczka to hire Jami Kimmel for the 4 hour cafeteria position at AG High School effective December 5, 2023.

All members present voting in favor of motion.

FMLA

A motion was made by Janesko second by Moser to grant Kim Swaney, High School Instructor a FMLA leave effective December 5, 2023 through December 15, 2023.

All members present voting in favor of motion.

SUBSTITUTE LIST

A motion was made by Planiczka second by Janesko to grant permission to add the following to the substitute list pending receipt of all proper documents.

Professional: Katelyn Flowers; Non Professional: Steffani Palmer

All members present voting in favor of motion.

Page 3

ENCORE SHOWCASE

A motion was made by Janesko second by Moser to grant permission for the AG High School Drama department to participate in the State Theatre Center for the Arts - Encore! A Showcase of Talent musical. All members present voting in favor of motion.

WVU STUDENT NURSES

A motion was made by Janesko second by Moser to approve the following WVU student nurses for clinical's at various times, throughout the district, from January 8 through April 30, 2024, pending receipt of clearances: Adison Leahy, Elvera Jenkins, Hannah Mooney, Hannah O'Konek.

All members present voting in favor of motion.

PENN WEST STUDENT TEACHERS

A motion was made by Moser second by Janesko to authorize Penn West University student teachers to be placed by the elementary supervisor:

January 17, 2024 – May 1, 2024: Shelby LaPorte, Rebecca Perkins, Cameryn Simpson, Angelina Brady. All members present voting in favor of motion.

ADJOURNMENT

The January Work Session will be held on Tuesday, January 16, 2024 at 6:00 pm in the D. Ferd Swaney cafeteria. The regular meeting will be held Wednesday, January 17, 2024 at 6:00 pm in the D. Ferd Swaney cafeteria.

A motion was made by Planiczka second by Sholtis to adjourn the meeting at 6:12 pm. All members present voting in favor of motion.